Recent reads

fangirl300Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This was okay? I found the heroine a little frustrating, but understandably so, and the family-oriented plot strings worked pretty well. The fannish stuff mostly rang true, though I did have one issue – the ‘Simon Snow’ books/movies she fans over are clearly supposed to be a Harry Potter analogue, but then the book goes and actually mention Harry Potter? I can’t buy Snow as Potter in a world where Potter exists, given that Snow is basically Potter through a Harry/Draco lens. But all told that’s a pretty small complaint that might have been a simple copy-edit error, just one that really bugged the hell out of me.

The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory. Gregory books aren’t something I can read a lot of, or take particularly seriously, but sometimes I actually enjoy them. This one, a prequel to her War of the Roses series featuring Elisabeth Woodville’s mother, was okay. I finished it, but it was a bit totally tedious. (Half the book is basically: Battle, sex, baby, battle, sex, baby. The woman had 14 kids, but geez.) I also attempted a more respected War of the Roses book – The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Penman – but I was bored. So bored. Maybe because I’d just watched that damn The White Queen mini-series and this was hitting most of the same story beats, maybe because Richard III as a total woobie just isn’t my thing. Whatever. Count me as officially Yorked out.

Shatter Me by Taherah Mafi. Just awful, man. Awful. They really will publish anything these days if you slap a dystopia in it, won’t they? Thankfully this was an ARC I got at a charity book sale for $1, because ugh.

4 thoughts on “Recent reads

    1. Yeah, I’m usually the same way. I mean, Fangirl was fine. I don’t find the praise as puzzling as I do for other books (ahem, The Name of the Wind) but… Meh.

      Like

  1. I recently finished Penman’s When Christ and his Saints Slept which details the civil war for the crown between 1130-1150ish and the start of the Plantagenets. I thought it was marvelous, but I already had a fair interest in that time period.

    Like

Leave a Reply

