Things that annoy me about Star Wars fandom: Any variation of “DESTROYING THE FRANCHISE”

I love Star Wars. I love mocking Star Wars. They are one and the same. I mean, if if you get offended by stuff like that hilarious dancing game… Well, I won’t call you a bad fan or anything, but we will probably will not get along.

In the last year, of course, this has taken the form of DISNEY IS GOING TO DESTROY STAR WARS, which has almost always directed at something Lucasfilm was doing before they got sold. A day or so after the new cartoon Rebels was announced, I had a friend call me up. She’s a casual fan (seen the movies but not much else, which is fine) so I kind of felt like an ass when I had to point out that they’d already done a cartoon. Five seasons of one. The cancellation of which also prompted a constant stream of DISNEY IS GOING TO DESTROY STAR WARS from the non-casual fans. Because of course.

Yes, this is an actual real thing that was produced and sold.
NEVER FORGET: The Jar Jar lollipop is an actual real thing that was produced and sold.

Reality check: This is the franchise that pretty much invented the modern Hollywood concept of ‘selling out.’ We can’t lose perspective that it’s a series of goofy space opera movies that have sold toys and disco albums and what may be the most infamous holiday special of all time, and that’s only the 70’s. It survived clunky dialogue, bad hair, Ewoks and badly-inserted Jabba scenes. Plus additional movies made off George Lucas’ first draft scripts, Jar Jar and the Jar Jar lollipop. A new cartoon, or a goofy game, or people in costumes doing a dance contest at a theme park, is not going to harm it. The jig is up.

Which isn’t to say I think you can’t take the non-disco parts of it seriously, because that’s a natural (and awesome) part of fandom. I used to regularly take part in discussions about the state of Luke Skywalker’s love life, of all things, so it’s not like I have that high a horse to sit on. Just, as you’re going on about modern reinterpretations of mythology, keep in mind that it’s also multimillion dollar franchise that owes just as much to Flash Gordon as it does to Joseph Campbell. It contains multitudes.

This might be a series. Not sure yet. Got plenty of material though, bless.

5 thoughts on “Things that annoy me about Star Wars fandom: Any variation of “DESTROYING THE FRANCHISE”

  1. “It contains multitudes.” Yep, exactly. In the entire grab bag that is Star Wars there’s lots that I love and lots that just isn’t my thing, and that’s fine with me. And I’m sure that trend will continue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

