Links of the week

fiona-apple-criminal→ I have somehow missed The Hairpin’s Remembering Lilith series, but this week Anne Helen Petersen and Simone Eastman wrote on Fiona Apple and I was so there. By the time Tidal came out I was already quite firmly in the angry Boys for Pele/Jagged Little Pill camp of 90’s suburban teen angst, so I thought “break a boy just because you can” actually sounded kind of fun. (Yes, I have already apologized to most of the guys I knew during this period. High school, man.) I bought the CD without ever hearing a note of it, thanks to the squeeing over it on some Tori Amos mailing list. (I know, right?) Can you imagine looking at that booklet, seeing that tiny little girl, and then putting on the CD to hear that voice? Because that’s what we did, back before Youtube.

→ IT CAME FROM THE TUMBLRS: What makes Iron Man 3 unique in the genre of superhero films and some thoughts on Doctor Who, feminism and Stephan Moffat.

Twitter’s latest bullshit change infuriates me. I use tweet embeds sparingly (in favor of Storify, which is better for my purposes) but when I do use the embeds, it’s to add my own context. I realize it’s par for the course for social media services to pander to the excessively dumb and lazy, but UGH.

Guys with Fancy Lady Hair. Because.

Leave a Reply

