simple tricks & nonsense

I feel your scorn, and I accept it.

Recent reads

Other than the Star Wars one, because I read a whole bunch of Crucible reviews for a post the other day and I am just done with that horrible book, here’s all the stuff I’ve been reading! And actually enjoying!

Abaddon's Gate and Star Wars: Crucible.

Abaddon’s Gate and Star Wars: Crucible.

Abaddon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey is the third book in The Expanse series. It’s not the last one – they just finished writing a fourth – but it does work as a satisfying trilogy with the first two, so go ahead and read ‘em all. No, seriously, read them. Great space opera series that tilts more towards the sci-fi side of things without sacrificing actual characters.

That one I read before Origins. After Origins, two books I picked up at The Book Loft in Columbus. I have a kind of hit-or-miss trend with books generally, so that I bought two books that were a) outside my usual genre and b) actually satisfying is pretty damn amazing. Maybe I just got lucky, but MAYBE THE BOOK LOFT IS MAGIC. I have one book left out of this batch. It’s nonfiction. DON’T FAIL ME, BOOK LOFT.

Anyway.

I’ve actually been eying Rules of Civility by Amor Towles for a while, but I wasn’t intrigued enough to buy it in hardcover. I figured it would be a bust. But it turned out to be an oddly introspective book about an era (the late 30’s in NYC) that I haven’t actually read much about. Try it, why not.

Playing Dead by Julia Heaberlin is another odd choice for me. It takes place in modern-day Texas, it’s more or less a mystery novel (but not a MYSTERY novel) involving mistaken identity (sort of,) the Chicago mob and family. I just picked it up off the shelf, never having heard a word about it. And it turns out the author used to work at my paper, which is just the kind of random detail I didn’t expect. It kept me up until 3 a.m. last night before the words started blurring, so there’s that. Finishing it was my reward for the extra time/brain cells spent on Crucible yesterday.

Soon: Kenobi, which I will be at worst apathetic about. But hopefully not.

One comment on “Recent reads

  1. Pingback: James S.A. Corey’s Expanse series to be adapted for TV

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2013 by in geek, pop culture and tagged , .

Top Posts & Pages

Instagram

Buttons for Celebration came in today! Louie and Hugo's inheritance from their Uncle Ripley. These dorks. My parents had to put their cat Ripley to sleep today. He was almost 15 years old (they got him as a very tiny kitten in December 2000, while I was still in college) and I can't find the kitten pictures so here he is sleeping in his corner 'bedroom' last December. Vader's Valentine tribute. I don't post enough pictures of Hugo.

Twitter

  • So my mom reminded me that there were only 2 months between Tom’s death and my dad finding Ripley. Now taking bets for next cat. 1 day ago
  • In happier kitty issues, Louie is doing happy paws on my head this morning. 3 days ago
  • Wrote a bit about Ripley (and his brother) because that’s how I process these things. bit.ly/1D8ubeL http://t.co/uvdErTI8mc 3 days ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

