Matt Smith thanks Doctor Who fans from Detroit

I got into Doctor Who last summer, and by got into Doctor Who I mean I mainlined 6 seasons in a couple of weeks. (No, I didn’t go back to the classic stuff – I have some restraint.) I’d tried the show when it first came back in 2005, gave up within a few episodes when Billie Piper started to annoy me, tried again after she left… But it never stuck. Until I accidentally ended up watching a marathon of season 5, and got hooked. So much of that is due to Matt Smith, and seeing him go, while not surprising, will be hard.

I did go back to watch the Eccleston and Tennant seasons, and even made peace with Rose… But it was Smith’s Doctor who finally keyed me into the show’s frequency, and for that… Well, I’m thankful. And sad. But thankful.

Also, hey, it’s always nice when some significant pop culture thing happens in Detroit.

2 thoughts on “Matt Smith thanks Doctor Who fans from Detroit

  1. Same for me all the way. Tried to get into the show when it first came back but it never clicked. Series 5 will always be my favorite and Matt Smith will always be my Doctor. It will be hard to see him go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

