Recent reads

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald. No, I never had to read it in school, but I figured I’d give it a try. Verdict: Another classic leaves me unimpressed. I mean, I knew it ends badly for all, but I hoped the characters might at least be compelling in their tragedy. Baz Luhrmann clearly made a fantastic-looking movie / soundtrack vehicle out of it, though.

The Glass Thorns: Elsewhens, Melanie Rawn. I think I’ve outgrown her? The world-building in this series (which was her strength back in the day) bores me to tears, as does the quasi-slash. I’m out.

Adaptation, Malinda Lo. This was okay, but per usual with YA, I found the actual plot way more interesting than the romance, but there was a hell of a lot less of it. Maybe I need to stop reading YA until this kind of thing blows over? (Never? Probably never.) On the plus side, it was a quick read, though I probably won’t bother with the sequel.

(Originally posted on LJ)

One thought on “Recent reads

Leave a Reply

