Unpunctual movie review: The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The Perks of Being A Wallflower

I was right smack in the middle of the demographic for The Perks of Being A Wallflower when the book was released in 1999, but I never read it. Or even heard of it. Good job, MTV.

I’m actually reading it now, because I liked the movie and I figure I ought to, being I was a teen in the ’90s and all. It’s… Okay? One of those rare books that just feel redundant after the movie. (Given the book’s author wrote and directed the movie, it’s not that shocking.)

Some called it a modern John Hughes movie, which I can see. (It does lack the full range of Hughes, but humor is what Easy A is for, I suppose.)

For being set in the early 90’s there wasn’t much that really pegged it in the era. (Aside from well, pretty much everything about Mae Whitman’s character.) This isn’t a quibble per say: I think it’s something that will probably work in the film’s favor in the long run – although isn’t at least some of the fun of Hughes eyeballing the outfits and being horrified by what Molly Ringwald did to Annie Potts’ adorable vintage dress in Pretty in Pink?

Actual quibble: Don’t expect me to believe kids who perform Rocky Horror on a regular basis don’t know a David Bowie song when they hear it, even in the days before you could Google lyrics.

Leave a Reply

