Recent reads

What I’ve been reading:

Star Wars: Scoundrels, Timothy Zahn. I’m ashamed at how long this took me to read, and I kind of had A Personal Issue with it, but to discuss it is to epically spoil it. I do think that most Star Wars fans will like it, and you don’t need to know anything about the wider Expanded Universe to read it, which is a bigger selling point than you’d think. It’s no Mindor but it is, for the most part, a good read. (I know some of you have read this, so please, no spoilers in the comments.)

The Long Price Quartet, Daniel Abraham (aka half of James S. A. Corey.) Jo Walton’s recs strike again: This was the best fantasy I’ve read in a while, really fantastic worldbuilding and characters. READ IT: Vol. 1, Vol. 2.

Shades of Earth, Beth Revis. This is the third of the Across the Universe trilogy. I really liked the first one and kind of soured on the second, but this one actually managed to clear up the issues I had with it. I mean, it’s still VERY YAish sci-fi, but it’s better YA sci-fi than most of the recent YA sci-fi I’ve read. So. You could do worse. (Yes, Glow, that means you.)

Also, Star Wars fans, you should totally read The Hollywood Reporter’s profile of Kathleen Kennedy. She is a BAMF.

(Originally posted on LJ)

One thought on “Recent reads

Leave a Reply

