Your nostalgia is not my nostalgia

I don’t think there’s any more obvious sign of the generation gap than seeing all these people freaking the hell out over the whole Girl Meets World thing. Yeah, I remember Boy Meets World, but I guess it debuted not long after I aged out of the TGIF demo. Of course, I can’t muster the least bit of nostalgia for the TGIF lineup of my own day – Perfect Strangers? Full House? Family Matters? Just the Ten of Us? Step by Step? Maybe Dinosaurs?

(Now, if it had been Fred Savage and The Wonder Years… Yeah, no. I doubt that brand of maudlin has aged very well.)

Leave a Reply

