Since we’re on the topic

cyndiMy first record (RECORD!) was Cyndi Lauper’s ‘She’s So Unusual.’ We were a record family: My mother (who was/is a music person) didn’t really buy a lot of tapes. She held onto records until the bitter end and then gleefully switched to CDs.

(My father is not a music person. I think he owned two records when they got married, one of which was ‘The Sound of Music’ soundtrack. He now owns Blue Man Group CDs. We shall not speak of it.)

I’m sure I had a first tape, but I don’t remember that so well. That would have been the New Kids era anyway, and who the hell cares?

My first CD was a single: ‘Cannonball’ by The Breeders, aka the hottest track of my freshmen year. Not really embarrassing, just kind of typical.

Leave a Reply

