Trashwreck syndrome

So, not gonna lie: I watch a lot of crappy TV. I’ve continued to enjoy the last two seasons of Heroes even though it hasn’t matched the first; I could never get a hate on for the later and lesser Veronica Mars or Buffy or Gilmore Girls. Being more of a book obsessive, I tend to enjoy most TV in a turn off your brain and watch things unfold kind of way.

That’s not to say I’ve never quit on a show – the most recent example being Brothers & Sisters, quite possibly the most unabashedly contrived show I’ve ever seen in prime time. (It’s like Berlanti took all the worst parts of Everwood and the preachiness of Jack and Bobby, then glued them together with the shameless lunacy of Desperate Housewives and forgot all the charm.) And I never could get back into Project Runway after the long gap between the third and fourth seasons…

I don’t remember how I got hooked on Grey’s Anatomy, as I usually avoid doctor-and-lawyer shows like they’re going out of style (will they EVER go out of style?) but I did. And I kept watching even though it’s been getting progressively more awful ever since they sent Meredith over the side of a dock. But I think I’ve finally found a last straw. (That link is spoilery for an upcoming episode, if anyone else out there still watches.) And it’s a relief. Sorry, Kevin McKidd – We’ll always have Rome.

And yet don’t doubt that I will continue to watch America’s Next Top Model and Gossip Girl. Your guess is as good as mine.

Leave a Reply

